Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are still required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public health is one of the issues widely discussed around the world. Some feel that the most effective way to improve it is by building new sports facilities, while others disagree. In my opinion, it is just one of numerous measures required to reach this purpose.

It is true that a greater number of football pitches, swimming pools, tennis courts and other facilities would encourage citizens to take up sports. Some people cannot afford a paid membership in a gym, so using free sports facilities in public areas can be a right solution. Children’s playgrounds in parks are also helpful for outdoor offspring’s activities.

However, other measures are needed as well .First of all, people of all ages need to be educated on health issues. They should have basic knowledge on healthy diet, possible consequences of drug and alcohol addiction, different ways of changing their lifestyle for healthier ones. Another solution is a greater choice of healthy foods in supermarkets for affordable prices. We also need more organic restaurants and cafes in our area for those who choose healthy living. Moreover, it would be beneficial to have volunteers who could teach yoga, gymnastics, karate and other sports in community centres free of charge. Various talk shows on healthy issues, tasty organic recipies, effective ways of loosing weight and exercising your body have to be paid more attention on TV. It would also be a good idea if the subject of healthy living was in school schedules.

In conclusion, public health should become the main priority of the government national policy, which would be beneficial both for individuals and society.