Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Education of children is the subject of concern for both parents and teachers. Both teachers and parents play a very important role in the learning phase of children. I believe that children learn how to be good members of society mainly in the school. In this essay, I would give my views on both sides of the topic.

To begin, children learn whenever they see how parents behave in the society and how they interact with others. Parents are always role models for their children. The mind of children is so innocent that it follows whatever it sees. Children tend to imitate whatever adults do and learn from them. Parents who spend a lot of time with their children, tend to have more influence on their habits and behaviour. For example the child learns and speaks the language that is frequently spoken at home. One to one teaching is possible. It becomes more focussed teaching as compared to when teacher teaches ten or fifteen of them together. Parents can teach a lot of things to kids in a natural way. Lets say while telling stories at nights about fairies and angels, they teach them how good happens to those who do good.

However, the school is the best place to learn how to behave in the society. Many arguments can be made in this regard. Firstly, in the busy world, parents are too busy to take care that their children learn good things. While in school, teachers are more focussed in their teaching. Secondly, in school children learn how to make friends, share, love and care about others. They get to know how to play in teams. They see other children behaving nice and being rewarded so they tend to follow that behaviour. Similarly, for instance if somebody has stolen something and found guilty, then negative reinforcement helps others to learn that stealing is bad.

Furthermore, teachers are being trained different techniques to teach while some parents can be just ignorant about these facts. School teaches children how to live in discipline and that there is a time for everything like play time , study time, story time etc. At home parents sometimes tend to have soft corner and children get used to that. In addition sometimes adult forget that the children are watching and learning so that can impact the learning process adversely for example seeing parents smoking, fighting can affect children.

In conclusion, I believe that though both parents and teachers play a critical part in the learning process, but school is the place where child learns the most both academically and socially. Parents help them keep the first step towards learning it and from their the teachers and peers show them to a walk further steps and finally it is the community that teaches them everyday about how they are expected to behave.