Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Not too long ago advertising was not nearly as popular as at the moment. In recent years the advertising has brought a profound influence on high sales of popular consumer goods. This phenomenon is alarming market experts who argue that this can encourage people to buy a particular product which they do not really need. I have been supporting the perception inasmuch as people are more likely to be hypnotized by advertising to buy goods even though in some cases some people argue that they have found the goods which they need by seeing advertisement.

Advertising will persuade people to buy product which they actually do not really need. This is because a content of the advertisement which consists of song, short movie, or pictures has attracted people to buy what the advertisement promotes. As a straightforward example, stopwatch product which is advertised by screen entertaining devices has been persuading people to buy that kind of product. As a result, the stopwatch company has raised the highest sales for several years. Another instance can be seen that advertising of Sony Aiwa, a radio product which can connect to Bluetooth, is completely encouraging a majority of Indonesian youngsters to buy the electronic whereas they do not need the product in their predictability of everyday life.

On the other hand, several communities are helped to find a particular thing they need by seeing an advertisement. Owing to a main purpose of advertisement, people are informed particular products to their needs. To illustrate, a group of radio announcers in India argues that they are really helped to find a portable radio, Sony Aiwa which can connect to their mobile phones. So as to usefulness of the product, nearly 90% broadcasters in the country use the product to support their duties. Thus, the company of the product gets a higher profit because of the higher sales of the product. More evidence of this case is provided by survey which was conducted by California University in 2013. The result shows that third quarters American citizens agree that advertising helps them to find the right particular product which they need.

The aforementioned evidence shows that the power of advertising has been evoking people to buy products they do not really need; several people, however, argue that advertisement is completely helpful for finding a certain product. It is imperative that the people should be selectively choosing goods that they need by selecting and filtering the advertisement.