University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Education is intended to enrich people's knowledge. Every person has the same opportunity to get education. University, as one of the institution that invents, processes, and distributes knowledge, should follow the key role of education, that is enriching people's knowledge no matter who they are.

Male and female in terms of studying have the same capability to learn something. I personally had seen this phenomenon. I was majoring Computer Science while I was in a university. Computer Science which is generally related to logic will require an ability to think rationally. However, while there is a stereotype that says women are so weak to think rationally or logically, I found it was wrong. Friends of mine for instance, mostly could follow the studying process and could achieve the satisfied result academically and practically. That is just one simple example why I firmly disagree to differentiate the number of male or female being accepted in a university.

Moreover, while it may be true that some majors need a physical capability to easily follow the educational processes, I also strongly disagree to make this reason as the means to differentiate the opportunity between male and female in a university. Mechanical engineering for example, is one major that might be known as the major that would need the extra physical capability. So, in order to be a successful student in this field, many will think female would not be suitable to take this major. However, this should not be used to be an excuse to discriminate one gender. University instead should support all students in their study no matter the gender, so they can pursue what they want especially in getting their degree.

To sum up, instead of discriminating one gender in the acceptance processes, university needs to enhance the syllabus that can wipe off the barriers especially physical barriers to one gender. On the other hand, with the enhanced syllabus, university can change the stereotype that have been forged in the society to some major, thus it can attract both male and female to enter the major.