Young people should be encouraged to spend a gap year or two travelling around different countries when they finish school or university. Do you think this is a good idea?

Some people think spending a gap of year is important to the development of students. In my perspective, this statement has both positives and negatives which I will explain and elaborate below.

There are certainly some advantages of travelling around different countries. One such benefits is that young student can obtain many useful skills. As young students have limited disposable income in their hands, they will need to find a part time job to work to sustain their living. By doing this, it allows them to master many skills such as negotiating and listening. Consequently, they may become more independent.

Apart from this, they are given the chances to broaden their horizon. Having direct communication and interaction with local citizens, for instance, students are able to understand people with culture from different backgrounds and perceive the world in different ways. As a result, students are able to avoid any conflicts when interacting with local residents.

However, there are opposing voices. To start with, resting for a long period time may have reversed effect on academic performance of students. It is generally acknowledges that student must keep learning in order to maintain their ability of study performance. By spending a gap year, they could be distracted by many other issues which are not likely positive effects on their study.

In conclusion, although spending a gap year of two travelling around different countries has drawback, I still think It is a great opportunity for young students because they would accumulate certain experience and knowledge.