1. Competition for places at university has been increasing in recent years. ls this positive or negative development? Why do more and more people want to study at university?

Globally, the issue of whether it is a positive development that increasing people compete for entering university or not has been debated for many years. Some people believe it is a beneficial trend. However, this essay will argue that the overwhelming competition is not good for two reasons. Firstly, it exacerbates peer pressure. Secondly, fewer young people will learn about practical skills.

To begin with, it is negative because the more pressure on students who want to study at university may introduce different issues. They need to use spare time to study for academic performance to compare with their peers. Take China as an example, millions of candidates sit down for tests every summer, struggling for their dream universities, while a considerable amount of them would experience frustration, confusion and even depression when results are released due to the fierce competition. In this case, it is inevitably to reject some students and hurt their confidence and stigma. This is not the only reason.

When there is a significant demand for higher education, there are fewer people to study in places like Tafe for practical skills. In recent times, it is not uncommon to see that shortage of labours in industries like mechanics, construction workers, plumbers and other professions required different skills. In Australia, for instance, clients need to pay hundreds of dollars for a plumber since decreasing people would select plumbing as a career. Thus, society would witness an imbalance if most of its residents want to be students at university.

This essay has argued that it is negative if more and more people compete for a place at university for two reasons, namely, the unbearable stress and the shortage of some professions. The main reason for the phenomenon is that people who graduate from campus tend to find decent jobs. All over the world, communities will be happier and balanced if the income discrepancy could be narrowed among all the careers.