Some people believe that the range of technology available is increasing the gap between the rich and poor in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

What can wealthier societies do to help poor people?

Globally, the issue of whether the discrepancy between wealthy people and those who are underprivileged is growing due to technology has been debated for many years. Some people believe that the gap becomes wider, while this essay argues that the availability of technology actually has narrowed it for two reasons. Firstly, it is easier for the poor to afford products. Secondly, unwealthy people can acquire information as the rich do.

To begin with, it is affordable for ordinary people to enjoy the fruitful outcomes brought by the development of technology. Costumers, regardless of their savings, have similar options in terms of appliances, electric cars and digital devices thanks to technological growth. For instance, billionaires like Elon Musk are using the same iPhone as a university student have. In this case, the same services and products that the rich and the poor are able to enjoy narrow the difference between the two groups of people.

In addition, information and knowledge become transparent and accessible with the help of advanced technology. To be more detailed, the possibility of learning from the internet with minimal costs or even without charge enables all people to self-educate. In China, for example, those who cannot afford to study abroad now are able to learn on YouTube where they can find valuable English courses. Thus, poor people can equip themselves with knowledge and skills that used to be a privilege for rich people before the development of technology.

This essay has argued that the accessibility of technology is closing the difference between the indigent and the wealthy for two reasons, namely the same products and knowledge that they can assess. All over the world, wealthier societies can pay higher taxes to leverage the imbalance of income gaps and to help poorer areas.