Some people think that more genetically modified food should be produced to cope with the world’s growing population. Do you agree or disagree?

Globally, the issue of whether governments should support genetically modified food due to the increasing population or not has been debated for many years. Some people believe that providing gene-changed food is not a reliable solution, while this essay argues that gene-modified food is needed to cope with the over-populated world for two reasons. Firstly, it has a stably high yield. Secondly, more places can be used for agriculture.

To begin with, starvation in many countries can be addressed with a rising food production brought with genetic modification. More people will be fed with sufficient food with the help of technology since plants such as crops, corn and beans can be changed genetically to have a stable production. In China, for instance, the yield of soybeans that are genetically modified is multi-fold compared to that of natural ones, which enables 1.4 billion Chinese to have a secure soybean supply. Thus, the significantly huge production from gene-changed plants prevents people from starving. This is not the only reason.

Moreover, there will be more agricultural lands especially in developing countries where food issues are exacerbating with a growing population. Plants are more adaptable, with features like disease resilience, drought-tolerant and so on, after being modified genetically. It is possible for residents in a harsh environment like African countries to grow vegetables and crops on their lands with the advanced gene technology, supporting themselves. In this case, food with genetic modification enables some people in the populous world out of poverty.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that it is worthy to solve the population crisis with the help of genetically modified food for two reasons, namely, the better outcomes and the wider planting lands. All over the world, communities will become much more successful and have a securer food supply with gene modification science.