Some people think that government funding for schools should be spent on science and maths subjects rather than other subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Globally, the issue of whether educational institutions should invest more in science and maths than in other learning areas has been a topic of discussion for many years. Some people believe that should increase investments related to science and math, while this essay strongly disagrees with it for two reasons. Firstly, it is unfair for those who enjoy studying other subjects. Secondly, it will also threaten science and maths learning.

To begin with, allocating more resources to science and math subjects can lead to an imbalance in the development of other subjects. Although it is popular for the younger generation to select future careers like engineers and doctors, which require a strong base of STEM knowledge, some people prefer to do other kinds of work relating to literacy. For instance, the number of young people who choose to study literacy in high school is as same as those who want to learn science in China. If schools need to cut down the money spent on those subjects, it will negatively impact half of the population. This is not the only reason.

Furthermore, reduced government investment in other subjects can prevent children from developing a well-rounded understanding of other related areas of knowledge. To be more specific, learning subjects like English, Arts, Health and PE are essential since students need well-rounded skills and different knowledge to be successful. A pupil, for example, cannot develop fully when he grows up without knowing how to communicate with others and keep himself healthy mentally and physically. Thus, information and knowledge that students can learn from classes outside of the STEM classroom are significant for their whole life.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that education systems should not spend on science and maths courses than others for two reasons, namely, it is not fair for students who will not choose those learning in the future, and it is bad for the acquisition of other vital skills. In short, greater government investment in science and math subjects will lead to an imbalance in talent development and uneven development of other subjects. All over the world, students will be much happier and more successful when they have high-quality learning for all the subjects.