In some countries parents arrange marriages for their children, but in others, people choose their own marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Globally, the issue of whether marriages arranged by parents are positive or not has been debated for decades. Some people believe that arranging marriages is safer than choosing by young people, while others think it is vital to have marriage freedom. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of both systems. (52)

To begin with, compared to choosing partners, marrying someone selected by family is more secure. In most cases, senior family members will conduct a background check before they introduce the person to their children because they want the young generation to have a decent life after marriage. In contrast, it is not uncommon for younger people to fall in love with fraud and suffer emotional and financial losses. Thus, it is understandable for the older generation to find a better person who they know very well for youngsters. (84)

Conversely, strangers selected by parents are normally not the ones they like. Despite parents’ goodwill, there is a huge difference between them and their children’s preferences and standards according to partner selection. In China, for example, junior family members would be very rebellious and grow grudge if the elderly make the decision about their marriages since the spouse assigned is not suitable. Under this circumstance, new couples will not be happy. (70)

This essay has discussed whether it is better to have arranged marriages because parents will be responsible to select good partners or marry those who are chosen by people since they know what kind of people they want. On balance, this essay believes the latter argument is stronger as young people should take responsibility for their lives. Around the world, societies will become much happier when all young people can choose their marriage partners. (74)