2. Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyles should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban

It is said that prohibiting song lyrics that contain violence and criminal is considered the right action. However, everything has two sides, and focusing on only one side might lead to public disorder or even worse because we are living in the modern world with a variety of people (baby boomer to and generation-z).

Some part of the public holds the strong belief that prohibiting any activity that gives the wrong impression or message to the community is the mere way to solve the issue (crime and violence). Nevertheless, if it is not the root cause of the issue, the solution cannot be fully solved. On the other hand, advertising the public that the harsh actions are considered to be normal might become one of the reasons why real-life crime and violence is occurring. For example, teenagers are easy to get involved in the wrong action because of their natural behavior that exemplifies by their community especially, from the social influencers namely singers.

Secondly, banning is controversial action that breaking the common rule of modern society because we are living in an era of respecting human rights is considered a must-have attitude of the individual. Instead of taking corrective action that has already happened, taking the right amount of preventive action is the solution of modern society. For instance, strengthening the rules or increasing the penalty might decrease the crime rate.

In conclusion, prohibiting might be the one type of solution for preventing the crime, yet neither it is not the right solution in this modern world which respects human right nor it is not the root cause.