In the 21st century, contact between many parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that the advance in air travel and telecommunications between countries bring several benefits to society through its convenience. From my perspective, I believe that this phenomenon has some negative effects, as now will be explained.

On the one hand, the developed sharply through air travel and modern communication engenders a number of advantages. Firstly, it allows citizens to contact their family members or foreign friends. These days, a number of students decide to study oversea in order to have access to advanced education, using telecommunication equipment like phones could help these students keep in touch with their parents and friends. Another benefit worth mentioning is that corporations such as Apple and Samsung can easily expand their branches to any corner of the world, providing a thousand career prospects to local people, which allows them to enhance their living standards as well as reduce their financial burden.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of this development are outweighed by its negative aspects. To begin with, as each flight often takes a short time for each trip, gradually leading more people to choose this means for their commutes. However, the amount of carbon dioxide released by airplanes caused numerous problems to the environment as well as public health. Furthermore, the world population nowadays significantly rises, and the increasing demand for travel makes the government have to chop trees down to make way for airports, causing wild animals to face a range of dangers and gradually become extinct. In addition, communication technology devices such as phones and others produced by components containing lithium that often directly impacts factory workers’ health, and residents who live near these mining areas.

In conclusion, although the development of air commute and communication through technology devices helps people live more effectively, I am still of the opinion that the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits.