7. Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is true that technology provides people with more options for interaction and communication. In my opinion, these changes definitely has a huge influence on the relations and there are both benefits and drawbacks.

Technology has impacted relationships on business, education and social life. Firstly, thanks to Internet, sellers and buyers do not have to meet and know each other when they are doing business. Secondly, the interactions between teachers and students have changed too and teachers no longer represent authority. To be more specific, a teacher might be the only source of knowledge for some students in the past while children can type in problems and find the correct answer online in a second in these days. Finally, many people, especially the younger generation, get to know those who from the other side of the world and have a chance to know more things through social media like Facebook.

On the one hand, these developments can be very positive. People can contact friends at any time regardless of distance between them if they need help or want to have a chat. For example, moving overseas has not disconnected my relations with friends who are in China and I can also make video calls with my family when I miss them or there is an emergency. On the other hand, the convenience brought by technology may be an obstacle that discourages people to meet others in person. In this case, people miss many opportunities to strengthen friendships and family bonds via deeper conversation or physical comforts.

In conclusion, technology has certainly offered new interactive possibilities for people but not all the outcomes are advantageous.