According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Firstly, Internet decreases the distance between people virtually, what I mean by this is that family members who live away can connect to phone calls or messages. However, with the growing interest of people to social interactions, mobile chat applications display interesting pages and feeds on their homepages, which further takes people time. For example, The number of users on Facebook surged, after the introduction of the news feed page. Many people get distracted easily over the internet, they often come online for one task and gets involved into another area. Physical interactions between friends is getting effected as it is now completely online.

Notably, a decade ago people used to buy newspapers for current affairs and news, nonetheless, with the increase of internet users, many find it as the easiest and the cheapest way to get notified. However, they are not realizing about the interactions and meetings with people, which they used to have, while they go to buy a magazine. Furthermore, family members who used to share things are now busy chatting online, this can cause a decline in the relationships. In addition to this, with the increase of virtual gaming mania, youth are getting addicted to these games. Hence, modern children lack the ability to find friends easily.

To sum up, although internet open doors to worldwide communication, extensive use of it can affect relationships. Everyone should understand the drawbacks like the distraction and deterioration of physical presence. In my opinion, humans should enjoy moments with family through travelling or by talking instead of browsing for connections across the world.