Advantages and disadvantages of the Internet in this modern era

In this day and age, with the advent of technology, people are provided with the opportunity to easily access the Internet. In my opinion, this trend is beneficial for individuals' communication and knowledge and poses a great threat to people's physical well-being and privacy.

On the one hand, getting access to the Internet is advantageous for several reasons. Firstly, the Internet has created favorable conditions for people to communicate more easily and instantly on various social media platforms such as Facebook, Zalo, and Twitter. This can be explained by the fact that people nowadays can contact anyone around the world by instant messaging and real-time calling, which consequently helps them keep in touch with their relatives and friends. Secondly, Internet-based social networks also assist people to accumulate knowledge and therefore broaden their horizons. To be more specific, the Internet can provide us with a huge amount of information about both domestic and global affairs. As a result, by regularly reading news on the Internet, we can become more well-informed than ever before.

On the other hand, the Internet inevitably creates a wide variety of issues. The primary problem is that Internet can adversely affect people's physical health. More specifically, social media platforms are highly addictive, which can make people lead a sedentary lifestyle. Obviously, when people indulge themselves in aimless scrolling, they have a prolonged period of screentime, which can cause them optical diseases namely shortsightedness and eyestrain. Furthermore, the Internet can have privacy issues. For example, when someone posts something on Facebook, he accidentally lets people know about his geographical location, making him the target of crimes.

In conclusion, although the Internet plays an important role in our daily communication and gaining knowledge, I believe that it can cause several physical health and privacy problems.