In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

While many years ago university pupils had a tendency to get their academic qualifications in their hometown, today more and more students made a decision to study in a foreign country. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

On the one hand, studying overseas is problematic for a number of reasons. Firstly, studying abroad may pose a difficult dilemma for many people who are not determined enough. That is because they may suffer from culture shock and have to struggle to adapt to a new culture. For example, students have to face up to language barriers which can impede their integration into a new studying environment. As a result, their given performance at school is exacerbated. Secondly, not all students can thrive away from their home and family support. Living alone in an unfamiliar country can exert a negative repercussion on pupils in terms of mental health. They will easily feel homesick which is able to bring about depression.

On the other hand, studying abroad can benefit students in a host of ways. The main advantage is that students have more chances to get access to superior facilities and tutors in prestigious institutions usually employing teachers who are experts in their fields. Therefore, not only can pupils broaden their horizons but also accumulate a variety of indispensable skills such as critical thinking and problem solving, which plays a crucial part in facilitating their future preparation for their own careers. Moreover, that students will learn self-reliance and independence is another major benefit of studying overseas. When being alone in a foreign country, every student needs to learn the way to take responsibility for each activity in a daily routine. For example, they have to figure out how to cook meals, clean the house, and pay bills. This will partly increase their real-life responding abilities.

In conclusion, if university students choose the option to study abroad, there will be both benefits and drawbacks.