Aircraft have been increasingly used to transport fruits and vegetables to some countries where such plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it a good trend, but some people oppose it. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Over the past decade, the increasing demand on transporting fruits and vegetables throughout the world never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Some may support that airfreight is also an economical means to meet the above needs while others give an opposite argument toward its costly price and negative effects caused by using it as a method on export and import of agricultural products. To the best of my knowledge, I’m of the opinion that this is an immensely debatable question to be analyzed in both contrary aspects before concluding that supporting air transportation is reasonable and practical.

On the one hand, it is important to recognize that carrying perishable items such as fruits and vegetables facilitates the countries which couldn’t grow such kinds of plants, out of the situation of famine or shortage of very essential crops. One real case is that some nations in Africa area often lack instrumental foods, leading to inadequate nutrition, but thanks to planes, the non-profit government organizations (NGOs) in the world can aid regardless of the far distance that no other transportation means can adapt to this mission, excluding aircraft. This example indicates that shipping farming products by flights is a virtual bridge to connect throughout the world and not only boost the agricultural industry but also prevent the food supply crisis, especially in some countries facing the scarcity of victuals/viands resources.

Additionally, it is visible to realize that taking advantage of delivering fruits and vegetables by airplanes is an opportunity for exchanging other commodities, and based on that, the world economy has become commercialized and globalized. For instance, the USA is one of the largest countries in importing vegetables from Vietnam while Vietnam has been importing electronic devices with a huge amount per year from the USA under bilateral agreements which actually bring advantageous points for Vietnam in trade. This example shows that freight by planes has been a beneficial trend in order to foster comprehensively economic development, especially in agrarian areas like Vietnam.

On the other side, some opponents may argue that using planes as a means of carrying goods easy to rot is pricy because of preservation cost for such products with short shelf life. This leads to an increase in the price of these products which the poor countries couldn’t be affordable to prevent starvation in their sites. Besides that, there is an emerging and extreme statement that the idea of using aircraft as a mode of transport can make air traffic congested and air space polluted. However, they are ignorant of the fact that nowadays, due to the development of the aviation industry, more cheap airline brands have been established to serve the transportation purpose. Meanwhile, compared to both congestion and air pollution level caused by other vehicles as motorbikes, ships,…, transporting by flights can reduce pressure on tackling these above problems which have been extremely severe and likely to be unsolved on the ground.

In conclusion, under no circumstances, should people underestimate the benefit of airline transportation for fruits and vegetables. Not only does it help to prevent starvation but also makes a foundation for global economic development. However, we shouldn’t ignore the relevant influences like increasing of goods price or polluting the air environment which can not surpass/outweigh its mentioned-above advantages.