Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The effect of technology in our life nowadays has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although it is strongly considered by some that technology has initiated numerous methods to help people easier on communicating, the issue as to whether the technology impacted in a positive or negative manner in how people communicate with each other remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, I am of the opinion that this is an immensely debatable matter to be analyzed in light of several aspects before any conclusion can be drawn.

On one hand, it is visibly recognized that thanks to technology, there are increasingly developed approaches to facilitate the interaction of people and to also short space of human-being communities. Based on these approaches, a person can get on well with other persons despite far distances and keep in touch and keep updated what happening without being beside them. For example, in the past, being in high-school without any supporting tools to contact with my family, I just came back to my hometown once a month by traveling by bus, to visit my family, update their advice and let my mom updated my situation on studying. That was the reason why during the high school-learning period, I rarely talked with my mother and shared with her about my problems. At the moments, in spite of working as far as more 2000 km from my home, I’m able to sufficiently update about my mother's daily activities in order to ensure her health by just clicking in Messenger application to see her extremely clearly. This example indicates that technology has enhanced the human’s relationships closer, more intimate, and more comprehensive by making tools user-friendly that people can connect more regularly.

On the other hand, it is undeniable the fact that by using technology, people compulsively depend on the utilities to interact with each other instead of being in-person to directly communicate with them. Meanwhile, it is important to recognize that in some kinds of relationships, directly interacting effectively influences on emotional feelings which are roots of each relationship. Without these feelings, every connection between people also becomes virtual, less honest and less quality. For instance, at the moment, a lot of parents give their offsprings phone to play and run out their free time and not spend time talking, sharing and asking them about their emotion, their studying. Instead, these parents, who are also as victims of technology as phubbers, immerse themselves in using technology for entertainment and working purposes. There is a lack of comprehension between peoples and children which is strongly rising and has become an alarming issue recently. This example shows that somehow technology negatively impacts on how people distribute leisure time on warming up their relationships, even the intimate ones.

In conclusion, under no circumstances, does technology play a vital role in positively changing the way people interact with others by creating useful methods to shorten space and limits on communicating between people. Nevertheless, we should not ignore the severely negative consequences of using technology compulsively which leads to not pay attention on their real and intimate relationships needed interacting directly or in person. Hence, the essential lesson on controlling and how to use technology effectively has still been a demanding question for each person, including me.