Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

How to educate a child has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although it is considered by some that parents play a vital role in defining who their children will become, the issue as to whether school takes this responsibility or not remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, I’m of the opinion that this is an immensely debatable matter to be analyzed in light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn.

On one hand, it’s important to recognize that a child spends most of the time at home with their mother and/or father during the first years of childhood so their initial actions are affected and established by imitating their parents. Some argue that at those ages, a child’s action foundation could be not impacted by any happening around them as they still lack awareness and consciously learning. This argument could be true to some extend. However, they should take into account the fact that the process of unconsciously absorbing is the most effective and influenced way of studying. For example, I have a 2-year niece who always answers politely as “Yes, I’m hearing” whenever someone calls her back while may other babies can just say “what” since she imitated as her mom often tried to reply her like that in order to teach her how to give a first polite response. This example indicates that parents is an essential part of educating their offspring to become a valued citizen of the community.

On the other hand, it’s equally instrumental to realize that after first years of a child’s life, schools are necessary environments where children have chances to both obtain academic knowledge and interact in society through activities with their peers and teachers. Based on this, their behaviors tend to change under lessons on generally social standards and acquiring from others. The opponents may hold arguments that a child acquires academic knowledge the most and not be profoundly influenced on behavior as her or his mindset was settled down before enrolling in schools. Nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that knowledge and awareness build and change the way that someone behaves gradually over the time and even some teenagers don’t follow their parents’ advice or obligation as they are aware that this given advice is antiquated or antediluvian in modern life nowadays while their parents had not caught up. For instance, thanks to the internet and social media, they get to know that they can contribute to communities in the numerous manners by their innate artistic talents instead of just focusing on learning academic subjects with the aim of finding a suitable job in the future or not wasting time playing sports and developing their unique abilities as obligated by their parents. This demonstrates that the schooling environment holds an irreplaceable role in shaping awareness, knowledge and behavior of each child to define who they will be in society.

In conclusion, under no circumstances, should both parents and schools take a mission on educating children to become a good civilian because can they not only learn from the older persons at home but also obtain knowledge at school and shape mindset through interacting within education environment.