All education and health care should be funded by the government and
free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
In the contemporary society much attention is paid to state policy. It decides how much to spend on
each sphere of life for a comfortable life in the country. Some people think that health care and
education should be free for every citizen using state budget. Others believe that not all education and
health care should be free. I partly agree with both views.
Many arguments can be found in favour of the view that people should be able to study and be treated
for free. To begin with, poor people must have a chance to get an education in order to get a job and get
out of poverty, otherwise the poverty rate will increase. Furthermore, usually rich people treat serious
illnesses abroad, while people who live in villages do not have this option. Therefore, the state should
provide an opportunity to get cured free of charge.
However, there exists another point of view on this issue. To start with, usually people do not
appreciate what they get for free, that is why a small fee is required. Moreover, paid education and
health care may improve the quality of services to some extent because more money will be spent on
wage and the higher the salary the more qualified specialists will work in schools and hospitals.
All things considered, the obvious conclusion to be drawn is that government should find a balance
between expensive education and health care and absolutely free services of teachers and doctors,
otherwise, social inequality will grow.