All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been increasing advocacy that all university students should engage in some voluntary work to support the local community. From my perspective, while this suggestion still has its potential drawbacks, the benefits far outweigh the concerns.

On the one hand, mandating voluntary activities will impose a huge amount of pressure on those who rely on part-time employment. As a result, the coercion could conflict with their work schedules, and increase a sense of stress and burnout while being forced to choose between earning income or volunteer commitment. Moreover, if the student is not genuinely interested in volunteering, the lack of enthusiasm and low productivity will undermine the effectiveness of the initiatives.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that there are more upsides than downsides regarding this suggestion. First, it is evident that voluntary work instills a sense of responsibility in pupils. By contributing some efforts to the community, they develop a deeper and more sympathetic understanding of social issues, hence fostering essential qualities for responsible citizenship and leadership. Second, by actively participating in community initiatives, students could build meaningful connections with local residents, organizations, and companies, which means they have more opportunities for collaborative partnerships, finding jobs, and mutual learning between academia and the community. Moreover, the reputation of those universities will be enhanced.

In conclusion, although mandating all university students to volunteer has both pros and cons, I do believe its benefits outweigh the weaknesses not only for individuals but also for the universities.