Although environment concerns are raised by sccientists, people are not changing their lifestyle. What should be done to encourage people to save environment?

While environmental problems have emerged in recent years, the majority of people still keep their ways of life. In my opinion, there are two main rationales responsible for this phenomenon: the inconveniences caused by switching lifestyles, the lack of appropriate punishments on violating environment conservation. In this essay, I suggest green technologies and imposing strict policies as two of many measurements to address environmental issues.

Firstly, changing daily routines to cope with environmental conservation leads to many difficulties. To be more specific, nowadays, people depend heavily on amenities to work, such as television, papers, clothes, which demands natural resources and powers; therefore, sudden changes in daily routines could impact on their jobs and lives. Furthermore, the lack of alternative and environmentally-friendly material resources in manufacturing, which are usually more expensive in comparison with conventional ones, leaves people with no choice but to purchase conventional products. Secondly, many businesses have been working, while generating pollution to the environment without any restrictions, because of the shortages in policies to prohibit these actions. As a result, pollution has become more severe, which results in many negative effects. According to a science article in the Thai Ecology Journal, without the measurements suggested by authorities, many industrial areas are contaminated by the wastes coming from factories, which affects the health of residents.

To deal with these uprising issues, green energies and recycled materials come up as effective solutions. By investing in technologies, such as electric vehicles, biodegradable materials, governments could easily introduce these alternative ways of life to their citizens and encourage them to protect the environment. For instance, people can use paper instead of plastic bags, which are harmful to soil; therefore, the number of plastic wastes would reduce gradually. Besides, imposing strict policies and heavy fines might help governments to control and monitor the manufacturing processes of factories. By doing this, governments could force businesses to switch their production line to other less resource-demanding ones; and these manufactures causing pollution will be shut down before damages can be caused. For example, an iron company in Australia was shut down, because the production line deteriorated the river habitats in 2015.

In conclusion, green energies and appropriate policies could help to change people’s behaviors toward the environment and reduce the negative effects on the environment.