Many famous sports players advertise in a sports product. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As sports play an essential role in the society nowadays, many businesses have been leveraging the popularities of professional players to introduce their products to the public. In my opinion, while some people claim that this could lead to the negative effects of exaggeration of these products, I still believe that there are more benefits reaped than the demerits, such as increasing sales and inspiring youngsters.

Firstly, many quality products cannot find ways to customers in need due to the lack of public recognition. Therefore, having the endorsements of famous athletes, these products could gain the attention of potential customers from many social media. As a result, sales can increase, which helps companies earn more profits to continue developing new products. Besides that, customers can also have more choices, being offered better products instead of the conventional ones on the market. Secondly, these advertisements related to professional players could also attract more people to play sports, especially inspiring adolescents to make sports become their careers. According to a survey conducted in African countries, more youngsters abandoned crimes to play sports, since Adidas launched a marketing campaign using Ronaldo’s images.

However, the images of sportsmen could be taken advantage of without permission, to solicit customers to buy products being exaggerated. As a result, many medicines and functional foods, which have side effects, not being tested, come to citizen’s daily consumption. It not only heavily deteriorates public health but also negatively impacts the trustworthiness of sportsmen. But, this only is a minor disadvantage, which can be easily solved by strict intellectual policies and appropriated quality evaluations. By applying these measures, authorities could ensure the safety of products in the market, as well as protect the celebrities from being illegal using their images for advertising. For instance, a company in Europe was fined one million dollars for faking the endorsement of Messi to sell their products and being forced to shut down in 2015.

In conclusion, using the popularities of professional sportsmen can help to boost sales and inspire people. But it still needs the monitoring of governments to prevent companies from taking advantage of it.