Many people today prefer to try another country's food instead of local food.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages for the environment and economy?

Due to being exposed to multicultural societies, people have a tendency to switch their interests from local cuisines to the foreign ones. In my opinion, this phenomenon can lead to several negative impacts that overshadow the benefits of it.

Firstly, having a majority of people who spend more interest in foreign foods than the traditional ones, a country is likely to lose its cultural dishes. To be more specific, many local businesses serving cultural foods can lose their profits because of the lack of customers. Therefore, many of them may have to shut down, as a result, the popularity of traditional foods can be decreased gradually. Due to this, the local cuisines would less likely be preserved, so that the next generations may not have chances to taste these foods. According to a tourism report, 20% of traditional dishes of the Philippine have been lost, since the introduction of fast foods in this country. Secondly, tourism can be negatively impacted as a result of the shortage of cultural identities caused by the loss of local foods. To explain this, when tourists have to choose places for their vacations, traditional cuisine comes as a competitive edge of tourism. Therefore, many of them will not come to countries that are poor in food.

However, some people would argue that people switch to foreign cuisines that could attract investment of international companies to set up their food stores in a country. Fairly saying, it is true that having numerous potential customers, many companies would pour their money to build their branches. By hiring new employees to work, these organizations also help to resolve the unemployment problem of a country. However, it deteriorates the economy while labor forces depend heavily on international resources coming from overseas. As a result, it would easily face a crisis, when suddenly these organizations pull their resources back. This happened in VietNam in 2010 when the majority of workers lost their jobs due to a food chain company announced to retreat from VietNam, which causes a huge burden for the authorities to deal with this rising unemployment.

In conclusion, the preferences of people who spend on foreign foods are larger than that of local food will cause more damages to cultural identities and tourism, although minor benefits could be reaped from this.