although more and more people are reading news on the internet, most people still prefer reading the news in a newspaper. What are your views?

Despite the fact that increasing number of people are reading news online, some argue that newspaper are still preferred by a vast majority of people for reading news. I disagree with this and strongly believe that newspaper are losing their relevance because of the internet.

There are many reasons behind the dwindling popularity of newspapers. Firstly, the biggest disincentive of newspaper is the fact that it offers stale news. For instance, any recent happening or breaking news is published in the newspapers, the next day. People have to wait for an entire day to learn about events that are of their interest. Secondly, people are shying away from newspapers because of the price that they have to pay to get their hands on a newspaper. Although this price is trivial, people see no point in shelling out their money when the same news can be read online for free. Lastly, with increasing environmental concerns, more emphasis is being placed on digitization, which has immensely affected the readership of newspapers. As a result, many newspaper companies have halted the publishing of traditional newspaper and are now offering news exclusively on the internet.

Online news, on the other hand, has many benefits. To begin with, reading news on the internet is quite convenient and time saving. We can access internet anytime, anywhere using wide range of gadgets that are available at our disposal, such has laptops, smartphones, tablets etc. These gadgets provide better mobility as compared to a newspaper. Additionally, online news is updated almost instantly because of which a person can learn about latest happenings in real-time. Finally, internet offers a plethora of news articles with the ability to filter them according to the needs of the reader.

In conclusion, I believe that newspapers are losing their relevance because of many cons associated with them and soon they will be surpassed by the internet to become the most preferred source for reading news.