Appearances are deceitful. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

There is no doubt that appearance play a big role how people judge others. Personally, I agree with the statement and I think that it is not right to judge other people only by their clothes. In fact, I feel this way for two reasons, that I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, one should note here that the great majority of citizens try to show their best aspects and hide negative sides. Basically, it helps them to be more confident in life and it makes a strong impression on strangers. However, it is not rarely when this confidence falls into pieces after a small dialogue. The great example of this can be found in several stores where people buy cloth. Recently, I had to give my jaket away because of some problems with the quality. After my explanations a manager in a local shop became angry and refused to take it, despite the fact that it wasn’t my mistake. As a result, a nice looking man with a smile turned out into a short-tempered person.

Secondly, the way how people dress doesn’t define a person’s preferences and possibilities. It is undeniable that some companies require a strict dresses in order to fit the image of the company, but most of the workers prefer casual or sport style. It means that a good-looking man in a dinner suit can be an ordinary worker with a small salary from a local firm, while a person in a t-shirt and jeans can be a millionaire. The greatest example of such person is Bill Gates, who likes casual style and doesn’t spend plenty of money on cloth.

To draw the conclusion, I am of the opinion that in most situations a man’s appearance in not able to tell truth about him or her.