Are teenagers nowadays addicted to social media ? Why or Why not ?

Social media - the convergence of information sources becomes a miniature world that is interesting to everyone, especially teenagers. On social media, there are many different types of entertainment that many teenagers abuse, leading to addiction and becoming a hot issue that people are extremely pressing. And this essay will discuss the reasons for my view as follows.

Many reasons are leading to social media addiction, but mainly because teenagers are not aware of the negative side of social media, they are also playful, curious, hyperactive, and want to prove themselves to the people around them. Parents have not closely managed their children, and are still lacking in their children's education. Besides, young people who have problems with communication look to social media as a solution to escape the rejection and potential anxiety of interpersonal contact in real life.

Another reason to mention is the outbreak of the COVID-19 epidemic, we have to go through a period of social distancing when we have to stay at home and isolate ourselves from everyone. Many people want to know more information about their relatives and about the progress of the disease, so the traffic on social networks skyrocketed. The number of people studying and working online is higher than ever. Therefore, more and more teenagers spend more time on social networks.

In conclusion, social media addiction can lead to many negative consequences for teenagers. It can lead to neglect of learning, drop out, and affect the future of teenagers. They need to learn how to use social media wisely and stay away from social media addiction.