Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, thanks to several technological advances, an increasing number of people now prefer to work and study in their private accommodation instead of going to offices or schools. As far as I am concerned, this situation provides both benefits and drawbacks for individuals. This essay will discuss two sides of the matter as well as mention some convincing examples.

On the one hand, looking at the bright aspects of this development, one of the most desirable benefits of working and studying at home is certainly the flexibility. It is indisputable that workers and students will be given the freedom of time to properly manage their schedules to fit them nicely. To be more specific, an office worker will have more free time for recreational activities and his family since the daily commuting time has been cut off. Another contributory factor that makes the development seem positive highlights the working environment. Take artists and those who major in creative fields as an example, working and studying from home absolutely offer them the ideal conditions to boost their productivity and academic performance. Therefore, the given progress is considered to be beneficial in some respects.

However, on the other hand, there are some possible disadvantages to this common trend. First and foremost, people's social skills will be seriously affected, given the less amount of interaction and in-person communication they encounter. Since a huge amount of time is allocated to online platforms assisted by gadgets and technological devices, people are more likely to be less engaged in social activities, which is an unwelcome consequence. In addition, working and studying from home can lead to a sedentary lifestyle since people stay all day inside without any essential physical activities. This in the long term can cause obesity and other illnesses that have detrimental impacts on individuals' medical conditions.

To sum up, the given development can be both beneficial and risky in some ways depending on how people make use of the merits and steer clear of the negative points.