Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There have been heated controversies over letting children have their own preferences. While some people argue that it is risky to permit children to have their own decisions since it will lead to a society with selfish individuals, others believe that children should be entitled to the freedom of choice. While there is some compelling evidence for the former clause, from my perspective, the latter makes more sense.

On the one hand, opposites of giving children the liberty to decision-making highlight their concerns of creating a society with thoughtless individuals. It is often assumed that children are prone to think for themselves without taking other aspects into consideration, which eventually results in a cold-hearted generation with selfish people. However, it is not always the case when permitting to have their own choices. In fact, children’s satisfaction after achieving their personal wishes can give them a mental shift to give thoughts to their surroundings.

On the other hand, supporters of giving children the right to freely make their decisions highlight the benefits regarding the improvements in children’s maturity and responsibility. First and foremost, it is indisputable that children making their own decisions can help them to be more independent and enhance their maturity. To be more specific, if a child is exposed to regular problems in terms of their personal affairs, they will gradually become less reliant on their parents’ support and be accustomed to dealing with personal issues. In addition, if children are allowed to have their own preferences, they will be more responsible with their decisions and be willing to admit their mistakes whenever problems occur. This will eventually create better versions for children, helping them to be more accountable.

In conclusion, while it is conceivable why people are wondering to let children freely make up their minds, I believe that by doing so, children will not only be more responsible but also more thoughtful and considerate.