Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

It is now a controversial topic of prohibiting students' use of phones during schooltime. While some people express their support for this idea, some still argue that phones are still essential for students.

On the one hand, phones are crucial for students in some situations. Firstly, phones are particularly useful for contact purposes. Many parents can make sure that their children are safe at school and when unexpected things happen, phones will definitely come in handy for distant communications. For example, surveys have shown that most parents decided to provide their children with a minimal phone for safety reasons.

On the other hand, it is comprehensible for some people to advocate the idea of inhibiting phones from students during the school day. Firstly, phones may distract students and diminish their study efficiency. In fact, those who use phones in schools are more likely to receive dissatisfied results on tests and examinations. Secondly, students' exposure to unsorted and badly selected information is also one of the major issues. Many things can be done on phones nowadays. Even adults themselves can not control their activities on phones, students, however, are not mature enough to be serious with their phone use. For instance, many children have claimed that they have encountered sexual and unsuitable content during their phone use. This is extremely dangerous, which eventually distracts students and makes them unable to focus deeply on the lessons.

In conclusion, phones are effective for students if they are used precisely for the right purposes. However, parents should control their children’s activities on phones to guarantee their children’s study affairs.