Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

It is argued that art is of vital importance to society as it serves to express the culture. Personally, I believe that children should be taught art. However, I would argue that it should not be the focus in school at the expense of other core subjects.

On the one hand, children should gain massive benefits from learning art subjects. As an expression of a society’s cultures, works of art reflect the way of life that a particular community has. They help children gain more insights into how their ancestors live and what they had achieved in the past, strengthening the bonds between them and their previous generations. For example, by observing pieces of art in historical museums, a Vietnamese student could understand the hardship which the generation of their grandparents had been through during America-Vietnam wars. As a result, they will feel a sense of responsibility to live up their ancestors’ expectations to be productive members of society.

However, other significant subjects in school, such as mathematics or literature, should not be sacrificed for art subjects. Despite fruitful benefits that having understandings of art may yield, art subjects should be optional rather than compulsory, which means that it is only for students with passion and willingness to learn. Many core subjects in our current curriculum have benefited children in a more direct way. For example, scientific ones, such as mathematics or physics, help students boost their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Due to its profound impact on students, they should be seen as more important than art.

In conclusion, although art is essential to a person’s cultural identity, it should not be valued over subjects at school.