Because of the global economy. Many goods including what we use as daily basis products by other countries have to be transported for a long distance to what extent do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage.

Globalization has revolutionized our world in many aspects. Now we do not belong to a big planet earth we belong to a small global village. Everything is available everywhere. There are many behoves and adverse effects of transporting goods over a long distance. I delineate my justification to describe that the pros outweigh the cons in further segments before reaching at a critique conclusion.

On the positive side, transporting goods over a long distance gives us a lot of alternatives. We can taste a variety of foods and vegetables from all parts of the world. To site an example about ten years ago we hardly saw the kiwi fruit which is from new zeland. But now, it has a place on every fruit stand. Earlier we had very few shoe brands like bata and carona ,but now the market is flooded with Reeboks, Nike, addidas and other foreigner brands. Secondly many people get employment in the import and export field. Small businesses have a change to expand globally and it increases the overall economy of the country finally it helps in developing good relations between nations, which helps in international cooperation and peace. If countries are dependent upon one another for economic success , then they would not go against each other.

On the other hand, importing goods can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as India where imported food has become more popular than traditional, local products, eroding people's understanding of their own food tradition. For instance, Indians used to give a lot of importance to the family meal. Wherein all the members set around the table and conversed with each other over dinner, but the young generation is going for fast foods and prefer to eat alone. Secondly, other diversity is being lost and everyone is wearing similar clothes, eating similar food, watching same TV programs and listening to same music. This is making the world dull and boring another major detrimental influence is pollution. When goods are traded thousands of miles by roads, sea and air, it increases pollution from exhaust fumes.

To putt in nut shell, importing goods has both marits and demerits but the benefits outweigh the potential shortcomings steaming out from this trend.