The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent you agree or disagree?

When it comes to crackdown on youth crimes, equipping parents with parental skills seems to be the best solution. From my perspective, while that can play an important role in eliminating young criminals, the most effective answer should be the combination with other alternatives.

On the one hand, there are certain reasons to believe that parents with good parental skills can minimize juvenile crimes. Parents are likely to have a great impact on children's behaviours. Crimes among juveniles, in fact, are mainly the result of inappropriate child rearing, lack of childcare and education about consequences of committing crimes. Therefore, offering courses which train parents skills such as to be good role models, to be good listeners or trustworthy friends of their children may be really necessary and helpful. By witnessing exemplary behaviours of their parents daily, children would be naturally shaped a perception of how they should behave as well as be more aware of avoiding being involved in crimes.

On the other hand, the influence of parents solely is not enough since it must be combined simultaneously with other methods to combat the issue. Either kids or adolescents nowadays spend much of their time at school hence they are also easily affected by their counterparts. For instance, in Vietnam, there are many cases students are implacated in violence, smoking, drinking alcohol by their friends at school and all of which are primary contributors to crimes at young age. On account of that, it is schools' responsibility to organize activities that can attract students plus educate them about adverse effects of committing crimes on themselves and the society.

In conclusion, I believe that educating parents about parental skills is an effective way to tackle the problem of juvenile delinquency yet it need to be carried out in accompany with others to achieve the best result.