The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals believe that raising cost of fuel is the most effective way to solve world’s environmental problems, while I accept that this policy is good to some extents, but I believe it is not the best method because there are much better measure to reduce environmental issues.

It might be a good idea to increase the price of fuel such as coal, petrol and gas because of some reasons. Firstly, by making it more costly to purchase fuel, government can deter people from using personal vehicles. For example, if gasoline is more expensive, people will start using public transport rather than driving a car or riding a motorbike, resulting in a reduction of CO2 emissions, which is responsible for global warming and climate change. Secondly, the decrease in the demand of fuel as a result of high price would lead to the minimization of natural resources exploitation which reduce the problem of waste disposal in such industries. Lastly, as the cost of using fuel is higher, people might use them much more efficient.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are much better measures to deal with environmental issues. Firstly, governments should spend more money on renewable energy researches, which includes wind, solar energies instead of nonrenewable energy sources. By doing this people can reduce energetic burden on nature. In my opinion, using renewable energy sources will extremely minimize the usage of petrol, coal and etc. Additionally, governments should educate population about environmental issues and their solutions.

In conclusion, I believe apart from increasing the prce of fuel, there are more effective ways to protect nature.