Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified (GM) crops. However, not enough is known about these crops on our health and the environment. Interfering with nature in this way should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Your task

Different kinds of genetically modified food are developed by many biotechnology manufacturers all over the world due to its positive impacts. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that interfering with nature in this way should be forbidden because of its side effects on our health and the environment.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons leading to the use of many companies on this method. Firstly, these crops will grow bigger and faster and be more resistant to diseases, insects and weather conditions better than commodity used conventional method. This could be vital in production process in developing countries. For example, oranges with a gene from spinach will be resistant to a tiny insect harming citrus trees. Secondly, GM foods can be modified to look perfect, which in turn help them become much more appealing to customers. Therefore, interfering with nature in this way will result in higher profits and higher living standards of farmers.

On the other hand, I suppose that authorities should apply prohibition policy owing to its detrimental risks on the environment and human’s health. Food chains would be broken if crops are resistant to predators. From an environmental perspective, crops might change the whole ecosystem. Furthermore, as genetically-modified food often utilize chemicals such as fertilizers and pesticides, the environment worldwide is likely to be seriously affected.

In conclusion, although many biotechnology companies are in favor of enhancing genetically modified food, I personally reckon that these kinds of crops exert pernicious impacts upon people’s health and the environment so government should put a ban on this methodology.