Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that food products marketing should be prohibited as the advertisements of cigarettes because eating too much exerts as pernicious influence upon people as smoking. To some extent, I hold the same opinion with the idea that overeating has adverse impacts on people but I would also argue that we do still need commercials of products related to foods.

On the one hand, people who consume a large amount of food bring on detrimental health problems. To be more specific, excessive food intakes are likely to keep in your body, in turn leading to obesity. Furthermore, people who binge take higher risks of suffering from long-term physical diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and in a more urgent case, death. These numbers of people can be comparable with those undergoing lung cancer due to smoking.

On the other hand, it may not be a good idea to forbit the adverts of foodstuffs for a variety of reasons. Firstly, children can not meet their demands in life as they are not informed about these snacks, candies that they need. Moreover, advertising is a key part of modern business. Should governments put a ban on these marketings, there will be a considerable fall in the number of their consumed commodity, which thereby leads to the company’s lower income.

In conclusion, while gluttonizing has as many drawbacks as smoking, I am not in favor of the idea that these marketings should be proscipted.