In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, some unlawful criminals in law courts are televised in order for public to watch. While I agree that this action can exert pernicious impacts to a certain extent, I tend towards the viewpoint that the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, making criminal trials to be broadcast on television has some adverse effects. Firstly, viewers are more likely to form their own opinions related to the crime just based on their lack of understanding of the jury system. Hence, it somehow leads to their biased ideas towards a problem. Moreover, trial board stand chances of being easily influenced by the media pressure as well as the viewer’s point of view. For instance, cameras is considered as a distraction so they cannot pay all their attention to the crime, which means that it would be unjustifiable to the victims.

On the other hand, criminal trials in law courts have more significant pros than cons. The primary reason is that this leads to fear of crime among the public, which will link to a steady decline in the crime rates. Furthermore, sensational stories will attract more viewers. Finally, these programs are educational and informative, especially for youngsters who pursuit the career of lawyers and prosecutors. For example, in Vietnam, there is a program called “court sentenced” which provide a lot of useful information to viewers about not only the crimes but also the jobs related to this problem.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the benefits of unlawful criminals in prosecution outweigh their drawbacks.