Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that food products marketing should be prohibited like the advertisements of cigarettes because overeating exerts as pernicious influence upon people as smoking. To some extent, I hold the same opinion with the idea that eating too much has adverse impacts on people but I would also argue that we do still need commercials of products related to foods.

On the one hand, consuming a large amount of food is a detriment to people’s health conditions. For example, taking

excessive food intake into your body potentially leads to obesity. Furthermore, people who binge fast food or processed food take higher risks of suffering from numerous health-related problems such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and in a more urgent case, death. These numbers of people can be comparable with those undergoing lung cancer due to smoking.

On the other hand, it may not be a good idea to forbit the adverts of foodstuffs for a variety of reasons. Marketing is a key part in modern business. To illustrate, the company approach perspective customers and inform them about their new products through broadcasting propaganda, pamphlet. Without advertisements, food manufacturers would experience crisis because their decline in the number of sales owning to prohibition policy. Furthermore, although adverts still play a role in the sales of products, buyers also purchase products not just only through publicity but also their qualities.

In conclusion, although consuming too much food have some drawbacks, I personally believe that governments should not put a ban on foodstuff commercials for some factors.