Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that advertising the overconsumption of food like smoking can have a negative impact on people's health. Thus, it will be better for the government to impose a ban on the advertising of both food items and cigarettes. While I accept that this idea may suit many people, I believe that the advertising of food products should not be prohibited.

There are several reasons why I believe that overeating might negatively affect human’s health. One reason for this is that the prohibition of some food product promotion can help address a few health problems such as obesity which is a big threat in the young generation. For instance, TV advertising gives foodies more opportunities are posted with the latest food products. This means people will tend to try new food and sometimes they will buy much more than they really need. As a result, they may get too much sugar and oil and get obesity. People who eat fast food products frequently are prone to gain weight and weaken the immune system because of the extravagant amount of fat they obtained.

On the other hand, I still believe that governments should not undertake the prohibition of advertisements for some certain food items. Advertising is an effective way that most manufacturers use to promote their products in order to approach prospective customers. If their commercials underwent a ban, their profits would decline significantly, pushing those companies on the brink of bankruptcy. This would lead to a rise in the unemployment rate. Additionally, prohibiting the advertising of certain items is an obvious disadvantage for consumers they will not be well-informed about the products they really want to purchase.

In conclusion, while overeating exerts several negative effects on human’s health conditions, the governments should not impose a ban on the advertisements of some certain food products