In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government have to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In Britain, elderly people tend to live in nursing homes where they can receive special medical health care. It is argued that the government is responsible for paying the service fee for them. From my point of view, this charge should belong to both the government and the family and this essay will give some reasons to confirm it.

First of all, let’s take a look at why the chairmans of a country need to be in charge with paying the cost for persons in retirement age. It is obviously to observe that when the elderly was young, they made an effort on their careers to build facilities as well as infrustructures and improve the life quality for citizens, which is including people in the state bureaucracy. To be clearer, workers expand traffic roads, build skyscrappers, or farmers grow crops to deliver to many other areas, even export to the international countries. Furthermore, the number of taxes paid regularly is income of the state employees, such as policemens, doctors, engineers. This is not only the government gives thanks these overage laborers by supporting the special medicine services, but also partly builds a more humane community. For example, in Vietnam, a huge of nursing homes has been established with full of facilities and caring groups, where the elederly often get the visit from volunteers.

On the other hand, family persons need to pay the costs for taking care of their beloved ones. Due to the law of direct blood relation, the offsprings, who are called the next generation have completely responsibilty for looking after their previous one. Otherwise, they need to offer their relatives a special health care programm and afford the added expense. After all, it is necessary for the old to have a worthy refuge, and that is the love of family.

To sum up, both the government and the family have duty to take care of the retirement people.