Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the automobile ownership went up dramatically over the last three decades. It automatically leads to the traffic congestion in cities in many countries of the world. We cannot limit the number of car possessions to deal with this issue. Therefore, the government should think about some solutions to persuade people to refrain from using their own transport in order to reduce the traffic jam.

The demand for car purchase has increased remarkably and it makes car companies produce and release a high number of cars production as well. Simultaneously, the government does not provide the equitable infrastructure, such as the street space and alternative motorways. Consequently, it is normal that traffic congestion happens because the number of cars is not proportional to the facility provided. Another reason is that the price of cars is affordable and people can get a car easily.

In my opinion, there are several actions that government can take to settle from this complicated problem. Firstly, whilst the vehicle companies produce their cars, the government should build and develop the road infrastructure in order to give enough space for many vehicles to minimise the congestion of traffic. Secondly, the government can collaborate with the car companies in producing small smart cars. The advancement of technology today is sufficient to create an innovation in car production. The last but not least is that government should provide many alternative transportations for the public such as trans-city buses, sky trains, and underground trains which offer better, safer, faster and more affordable transportation facilities. As a result, people will tend to choose public transportations than using their own cars. Therefore, the traffic jam will substantially reduce.

To conclude, car possession could not be circumscribed by restricting people from buying it, as evident in the last three decades. Rather more effective ways to tackle the heinous traffic congestion are there that government might select to tackle that issue.