In cities and town all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem.
What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem ?
In the recent two to three decades, with the technological innovations and progress
in the field of automobiles, there have been swelling numbers of vehicles on the roads all
around the world. This has resulted in lot of traffic and this, posing a huge problem. There are
quite a few reasons for such a situation; however, some productive suggestions can resolve
the problem to a large extent. Both the aspects are discussed further.
Out of all the reasons, the most common is that there are more numbers of cars and
other private vehicles. This is because that cars, in the recent years, have become affordable,
and so more people buy. Also, cars are more of a dire need especially in the urban areas,
rather than a status symbol or a luxury as in the past. The other cause that can be pointed out
is the unreliability of the public transport facility, it is always overcrowded. Therefore, instead
of waiting endlessly and packed like sardines, people use their own vehicles, thus causing
traffic congestion. People today, prefer to travel in comfort as per their time and with
flexibility.
Discussing the remedies for the high volume of traffic, the foremost suggestion is to
upgrade the public transport facilities. They should be more efficient, more flexible,
comfortable and reliable. This and attract more people to commute by them. Another idea is
to levy congestion tax. This can help to radically reduce traffic. A good example of this is
London. Where there is a penalty for overcrowding roads, there has been a remarkable
decrease seen as a result. Collecting tall taxes also can be a good suggestion. Moreover, there
can be smart ways applied. For instance, traffic smart phone application suggests the most
efficient time saving routes and manufacturing of smart cars.
Thus, to conclude, it can be said that indeed the traffic volume is a big issue in the
world at present. However, it should be immediately addressed by the government of the
nations and the vigilant citizens so as to save the world from severe environmental damage,
fuel crisis and slow moving traffic.