Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam".

How true do you think that this statement is?

What measure can government take to address this problem?

It is often believed that the ever-increasing demand for owning cars of modern people over the past few decades has brought about chronic traffic congestion in the majority of metro cities across the globe. Personally, I agree with this belief and I reckon that the government can tackle the problems by encouraging the use of public transport and banning cars entering city centers at peak hours.

Recently, the number of cars owned has increased dramatically, which is one of the main causes of traffic jams. Undoubtedly, when the number of cars exceeds the city’s road capacity, it will definitely lead to congestion. Take Ho Chi Minh city, which is the largest one in Vietnam, as an example. Thirty years ago, the main means of transport at that time were only bicycles and motorbikes, while only a few private cars were seen travelling around the city. However, the number of cars registered in this city now has boomed to around over two million units, while the city’s infrastructure was only designed to cope with around 500,000 cars. As a result of this, chaotic traffic congestion occurs everywhere in the city during peak hours, when the citizens have to move centimeter by centimeter. Clearly, the rapid growth of car ownership is a major culprit of overcrowded roads.

There are many measures that could be taken to address the issue. Firstly, the way forward might be to put ban on entering the center of the city by any means of transport, except for bicycle and public transit during rush hours. Besides, governments should build more sky and underground train systems and upgrade the quality of bus services in order to attract more passengers. Public transit such as buses or trains can accommodate many passengers at once. Therefore, if there are more people using public vehicles instead of private one, the problem of traffic jams could be lessened considerably.

In conclusion, although most cities are struggling with the issue of traffic congestion, authorities can alleviate this situation by improving public transport infrastructure and restricting the access of private vehicles.