Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is often thought by some people that residents do not recycle their household waste adequately, so a legal law is necessary to force people to reuse. Personally, although I agree with a legal obligation, I think that is not the only feasible approach because there are numerous measurements that the government could take to improve the situation.

First of all, enacting a recycling law can be effective to eliminate negative impacts on the environment. People tend to throw away cans or bottles instead of recycling because they think it can be time-consuming compared to buying new ones. However, when the legal requirement is enacted, people will have to obey to convert their waste into usable products. If residents do not comply properly, they may be punished with a certain amount of fine or even a prison sentence. Thanks to the law, people may be more self-motivated to reuse their waste and significantly protect the environment.

On the other hand, the authority should also educate their inhabitants to promote their awareness. This approach may encourage people to recycle more actively. When people are aware of the importance of preserving the environment or their current global environmental issues, they may participate in recycling programs more enthusiastically. For example, EPA - United States Environmental Protection Agency has launched numerous environmental programs and campaigns such as healthy school environments to increases students and educators’ awareness and knowledge of environmental issues. So, environmental education can be a viable method to persuade inhabitants to recycle waste.

In conclusion, although governments do need to enact a legal obligation, it is not the only solution to solve this problem since they can educate to raise people's awareness as alternative methods.