Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

As traffic and pollution problems are becoming more serious in today’s society, many people argue that raising the costs of fuels is the best solution for this issue. However, personally I disagree with this idea, and I believe that the government should encourage their inhabitants to use public transport.

While it is undeniable that the major cause of the increase in traffic and pollution is the use of private vehicles, the higher price of petrol would have little effect on solving the problems. Even though the costs of fuels are much higher, people still prefer traveling on their own vehicles due to its convenience and flexibility compared to other means of transport. For example, during the last ten years, the Vietnamese government has raised the fuels price to more than fivefold aiming to eliminate the use of private vehicles and protect the environment. However, the number of cars and motorbikes is still increasing dramatically, and the air is even more polluted. Clearly, the costs of petrol are not the answer to the issue.

To tackle the problems, the use of public transportation should be encouraged. Public transit such as buses or trains is more environment-friendly since they can accommodate many passengers at once. This leads to a decrease in the number of private vehicles running on the roads, and the exhaust fumes per capita. Therefore, governments should build more sky and underground train systems and upgrade the quality of bus services in order to attract more passengers. Besides, cleaner fuels need to be developed to tackle the issue of pollution. As a large amount of gas emissions from fossil fuel-based cars and motorbikes has hugely impacted on the environment, the use of more eco-friendly vehicles such as electric cars is urgent. Persuading manufacturers and travelers to adopt this new technology would be a more effective strategy for improving air quality especially in cities.

In conclusion, I believe that the price of fuels plays no role in eliminating the traffic and pollution issue and that the use of public transport and alternative fuels should be seriously considered.