Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people are of the opinion that understanding our olden days is valueless for contemporary people. Personally, I disagree with this belief due to history’s crucial roles in arousing our patriotism as well as providing us with invaluable lessons.

To begin with, various invaluable experiences can be gained from people in the past. It is undeniable that stories about a successful person’s life could teach readers about how to avoid failures and what they should do to improve their opportunities for success. One persuasive evidence of this can be Bill Gates, who is one of the most affluent men on earth. In an interview with TIME in 2017, Bill Gates mentioned that reading biographies of famous figures throughout history since he was a kid has significantly influenced his life and mind, which has in turn positively impacted his career and lifestyle. Clearly, acquiring knowledge of historic figures and events does vastly benefit people.

Besides, gaining a deep understanding of our ancestors’ sacrifices in protecting our countries’ peace and freedom would dramatically inspire us to become more patriotic. Being born in a peaceful world, many people, particularly children, may be ignorant about how heroic their forefather’s generations were to fight for their future. Therefore, learning about wars and conflicts in former days is vital, especially at schools to cultivate kids’ patriotism, which later motivates them to work for the prosperity of the nation and its people. It has been clearly shown that numerous school trips to war museums have considerably triggered students’ respect for their country.

For the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that modern generations could reap a host of advantages when learning about the past because of its contribution to enhancing people’s knowledge and their love towards their own countries. Therefore, I would like to suggest that history should always be a compulsory subject in school curricula.