The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to control violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this action?

Some media watchdogs suggest that the violence in films and on television should be censored to curb violent crimes in society. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea because violent movies and TV programs have ability to affect people’s thoughts and behaviors, and support potential criminals to sin.

Violent films have a profound impact on personality developments of viewers, leading them to act violently. Most of popular action movies often contribute heroic characters which tend to resolve conflicts through violence, rather than legal consultation but they are always highly regarded. Therefore, viewers, especially children and teenage, believe that if they imitate these role models, their behavior can reap applause from others. However, in most cases, their actions evolve into violent crimes. For example, my nephew, after watching “Power Rangers” film, often hits his friends and cousins with his toy weapons and shouts “super hero, attack!”. When I asked him why he acted like that, he said that “the heroes in film often do that”. It is clear that this action film is the main reason causes his violence.

Some TV shows such as war documentaries and crime reports also open up the possibility of viewers engaging into violence. Some crime reports describe all details of law-offending practices such as robbery, burglary and shoplifting. Meanwhile, some war documentaries present a whole process of produce weapons or drugs. As a result, it looks like instructive material for prospective crimes to study. One example is a criminal case in Vietnam, a man tried to extract narcotics from veterinary medicine after watching a crime report about produce and smuggle drugs.

In conclusion, the violence in films and TV shows can impact on audiences ‘s thoughts and behaviors then leads them to act violently or even crimes. Therefore, it is necessary for government to take an action to prevent this problem through controlling violent movies and TV programs.