Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

Learning is a continuous process. It is believed by some people that seeking knowledge about the times past has no relevance to today's world. I somewhat disagree with this assertion with reasons that will be analysed in this essay.

On the one hand, some people believe studying about the is irrelevant because conventional practices are harmful. It is imperative to understand that some of these practices such as female genital mutilations, forced early marriage, marriage by abduction do not only devoid people of their rights, it as well endangers their lives and predisposes them to infections. To illustrate, sixty-five percent of circumcised females get infected after a week while thirty-five percent are at risk of infection later in life as revealed in the research carried out by Advocate for girls right in 2017.

On the other hand, information about the past is of benefit to the society because it helps in decisions making and solving problems. In other words, it enables us to learn from the actions taken by our forefathers during socioeconomic adversaries. Also, this prevents us from repeating the mistakes made by them. Futhermore, it acquaints us about how we evolve. Is history keeping of any value? Certainly yes, it provides informations about how things done in the past, the progress made from the new inventions, and can be use to evaluate the growth of the nation. Thus, the merits of history cannot be overemphasized.

In conclusion, although some of the traditional practices are preposterous, i partially disagree that historical learning is insignificant because it guides decision making during socioeconomic crisis.