People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Rest is essential to healthy living. In recent times, there is a significant reduction in the period at which people sleep compared to the times past. This could be as a result of some reasons which be examined in this essay as well as its aftermath on the people and their acquaintances.

There are several reasons why people are deprived of rest. Perhaps, the most indisputable being stress. People experience stress in their day to day activities. The major source of stress in today's world is work-related. For instance, eighty percent of people working in Federal institute of finance reported that they sleep for less than five hours a day due to long working hours as revealed by the survey carried out by the center for active minds. The minds and body of these people are actively engaged by work, that they rarely take time to rest.

Consequently, this pattern of rest is deleterious to their physical and mental well-being. Lack of adequate rest endanger people's lives and render them vulnerable to systemic and cognitive disorders. Due to prolong mental work performed by them, the lack concentration, coördination and the ability to process information promptly, thus affecting their relationship with their loved ones. For instance, about 65 percent of hypertension cases recorded in Lagos University Teaching Hospitals was attributed to lack of rest, as reported by the Center for disease control. The rate at which these conditions are getting rampart is devastating as it is avoidable if people can take enough rest.

In conclusion, deprivation of rest is caused by stress, this trend however has diverse depleting effect on the physical and mental health of an individual