One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Over the years, the medical sector has evolved greatly. This implies that the life span of humans are rising as people tend to have longer lifetime. I opine that the advantages of this view supersedes the disadvantages because of its benefit to the society and family.

To begin, people are glad to live a longer life since longevity is the pursuit of most human. This is not of benefit to them alone as it has a great impact on family life and the society. Longevity provides people the opportunity to pass down generational knowledge to their offspring as wisdom is mostly linked to elders. It as well harmonizes relationship within the family. Also, increase life shelf allows people to contribute more to the world with their talent and skills. So many talented youngsters died with their knowledge. For instance, an Afro pop musician Fela Anikulapo Kuti died at a young age. He would have been a pacesetter for othe musicians to follow. Imagine if nothing is done and young talented people are left to perish. What effect would it have in our society? The world will be deprived as this people lack the opportunity to pass what they know to the younger generations.

In contrast to this view, advancement of medical care in strengthening peoples life are deleterious because people are prone to aging diseases, it as well result in overpopulation. To elucidate, old age predisposes people to risk of age related diseases such as hypertension, diabetes milletus, senile dementia to mention few. According to research conducted by World Health Organization in 2016, people above the age of 40 are prone to hypertension while people of age 70 are at risk of senile dementia. This disease factors renders the old less efficient and overly dependent. In addition, sustaining peoples life leads to rapid increase of the population. Therefore, the available resources are less sufficient for the people due to increased life span.

In conclusion, enhanced lifespan contributes to increase population and the aged being dependent. I strongly opine that its benefits to the family and society outweigh its drawbacks.